Hey readers! Fun fact about me; I am a bit of a word nerd. I genuinely find joy in discovering latin and greek root meanings of our english words. English really just doesn’t quite provide the full intention of the words we choose. Really, it is quite limited. Of course, my vocabulary is far inferior when considering all that is within the English language. Although, I must briefly state the liberties we take no, excuse me; the manipulation we as a nation allow to be done to the english language is horrendous. Yet, I digress and I do not pretend that my personal dictionary is anything near impressive. However, my opinion stands firm; researching and understanding greek and latin roots truly excite me.

Thus, the Word Of The Day is, light.  All morning I have been exploring this word. Completely wrapped up in the thing. Light is powerful. Light is precious. Light is many things. What comes to mind first is a song. Most of you will have some knowledge or distant memory of a particular nursery rhyme, usually heard in Sunday Schools.

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine…This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!”

The song goes on to describe this beautiful ongoing act of choosing to not hide one’s own light. Stating, “I won’t hide it under a bushel, NO! I’m gonna let it shine!” This powerful declaration many of us screeched within the walls of our Sunday Schools was, at the time, quite beyond our years. It was a warning; that you will be tempted and tested to hide your light. That you will be at risk for losing your light if you do not choose to stand and fight for that light.

Light can be a noun, it can be an adjective, and can also be a verb. Quick refresher course: Noun- person, place, or thing. Adjective- a describing word. Verb- an action word. How amazing that one 5 letter word could hold so much meaning and value. I am going to jump right into the heart and show you the examples of how this one word, can change your life.

NOUN 

“This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you; God is light, in Him there is no darkness.” 1 John 1:5

The word “is” declares to us a state of being. Being, a noun. God is light.

“When Jesus spoke to the people, He said.”I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

Here again we see a declaration that Jesus, Son of God, IS light. We also have a promise that we too, can become light.

ADJECTIVE

“Come to Me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Put My yoke upon your shoulders. Learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble of heart. When you are yoked to Me, your weary souls will find rest. For My yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Here we discover that not only does Light offer us rest but we can experience light-heartedness. We can choose to experience the weights of life being lifted off our hearts, minds and emotions. Ever wonder where; “weight of the world” came from…? You are not designed to carry the pain and heaviness you have been dragging around! You are designed and destined to lighten the load of life by releasing your heaviness to the Light of the world.

VERB

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:5

IMG_4670Some may want to argue this does not show light as an action. However, the root here is “illuminate”. Choose light, and you will illuminate. Darkness will flee. Try it! Go into a bathroom or maybe a closet; a room with no windows. Turn off the light. Now, tell me; what happens when you choose the action of illuminating that room? What happens to the darkness?

Here’s the short and sweet version; when we look around at our world today, we are bombarded by so much darkness! It threatens to infiltrate our homes, hearts, and minds incessantly. Pain, torment, chaos, confusion, and death. All of these things are negative. They are dark. There is no denying that truth. Can it be anything but truth then, that with so much darkness; there must be Light? Light forces darkness to flee. You want this world to change? Choose to become the light you were created to be. Your spirit tugs at your heart, shouting; “Choose Light and Burn Bright!” You were created for this. IMG_4669

“For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord! Walk as children of Light!” Ephesians 5:8 

